2013…thus far

Well, it’s been a busy six months since the last blog post. Guess it’s time to try and get back on track.

This year has been full of surprises. Back in the fall, I took on a new role at work. I’ve taken on the public relations, external awareness and alumni relations for the School of Hospitality. It’s a career move which was unexpected, but felt very natural. I’ve put the food production courses behind me and am focused on this new task before me.

2013 marks the centennial anniversary of the university and the 40th anniversary of the hospitality program. Since January, I’ve been “bleeding blue” in everything I do. It’s beyond exhausting, all this Panther pride, but so very rewarding! Between the events, the press releases, the recruiting efforts, the alumni gatherings and putting together a special magazine to mark our anniversary, there has been very little time to sit still.

Strangely, I don’t mind.

2013 also finds me single, again. A feeling that is all too familiar, but there isn’t much time for a social or dating life right now. Hopefully things will begin to slow down as the semester ends and I can try that “casual dating” thing that we boys do. Maybe there is someone out there for me who sees me for who I am and likes what I have to offer.

Being back in Atlanta has been wonderful. I’m able to reconnect with some old college friends and fellow alumni, which is nice. Seeing familiar faces defiantly makes the days seem bearable.

At the end of the day, I come home to an empty apartment and pure exhaustion, but I am so happy to be getting paid to make a difference. Others notice my efforts, and the reaction I get from folks within the university and the hospitality industry remind me why I fell in love with my major and the university all those years ago.

For now, I’ve put the wedding and floral design business on the back burner. It’s fun to do a big wedding or flowers for a special event, but I do not miss the stress/sleepless nights/mothers of the bride/chaos that these events can bring. I’m sure I’ll come out of retirement one day, but I’m happy to be doing what I’m doing.

Until next time, which I hope will be very soon,

J.

One thought on “2013…thus far

  1. First, I can’t imagine dealing with a mother of the bride regularly. Second, I wish you all the happiness in the world. May the right person come along at the perfect time.

Leave a Reply

