Lindsay & Matt – An Elegant, Eclectic Event

“Matt met Lindsay online while he was in Afghanistan and she was sleepless in Savannah! For two months this couple communicated via email and phone. They first met in person at Matt’s welcome home ceremony. By this time, “Operation Feet Sweep”, as Matt called it, was in full gear and while Lindsay may have attempted modesty and mystery as long as possible, he had her at hello!”

I’ve known Lindsay for the latter part of two years now. With Lindsay, we’ve developed a certain level of trust in each other. You see, I worked closely with her for over a year at Isle of Hope UMC helping to aid in the creative side of worship in The Anchor, a non-traditional worship service. Lindsay served, since Day 1, as the Anchor Worship Leader, working tirelessly to develop a worship band, technology and other ministry tools necessary for effective worship. I worked alongside Lindsay to help take the scriptures, themes, visions, and worship moments and make them more personal and relatable through worship arts. Over time, I began to act and do without needing her blessing or feedback. She slowly began to trust me and let me do what I do best.

When Matt finally arrived in Savannah, he was the first one to help jump in and help set-up or clean up whatever I had pulled together for that week’s worship service. I could tell Matt really loved Lindsay, and he was willing to roll up his sleeves and work. The more Matt and I cleaned up after church, the more I got to know him and his work ethic.

Fast forward: Matt and Lindsay become engaged and the wedding planning was in full swing. Lindsay was planning a mid-February ceremony with the reception at the fabulous Westin Savannah Harbor Golf Resort & Spa. Lindsay’s vision of an all white wedding with touches of silver, pewter and pale pink came to life through the florals, the atmosphere and the details. The wedding ceremony featured military traditions but still allowed Lindsay and Matt to tie the knot in style.

Feast your eyes on the stunning photography of Molly Morris Smith.

This is my favorite shot of the entire wedding, and there’s not a single flower in the photograph.

Captain & Mrs. Matt Miller
Minette Rushing Custom Cakes

Lindsay & Matt, thank you both so much for allowing me to make your wedding weekend extra special. It has been a true joy getting to know you both and work alongside you. Lindsay, thank you for walking with us on the journey called  the Anchor, and thank you for trusting me each and every Sunday. I had a fabulous time celebrating with you, and I wish you both a lifetime of happiness as you begin a new life together.

And Lindsay, somehow/someday/someway, I’ll put hay on the walls.

One thought on “Lindsay & Matt – An Elegant, Eclectic Event

Leave a Reply

