Looking Back

A year ago, my life was changed. Thanks to some wonderful people, I landed an amazing job working for the creative and hysterical Libbie Summers. She is a major force in the food world, and gives 1,000% every single day. I am lucky to know her, to have worked with her, and to call her my friend. I learned a lot about myself and about who I am as a culinarian, in a very short time. I am continually humbled and grateful for such an incredible opportunity.

Fast forward to December, and I found myself working for a friend who was opening a restaurant. Food Service Management was my undergraduate focus, so it only seemed natural. What I found was that I needed variety and creativity in a job, and managing a restaurant did not allow for any creative freedom. I also found it hard to teach quality food service principles to those who know nothing about food, much less food service.

Fast forward to June of 2011, and I was free to take on some creative interests, while still practicing the food styling techniques I learned. I’ve been able to cook at my leisure, arrange flowers, work with some brides on their wedding flowers, and figure out what my next step will be.

Today, I’m looking forward to what the next year holds. I’ve met an amazing person who continues to make me smile, and makes me a better person. I am talking with some great people about what my future might look like, and I am hopeful that these changes will be for the better.

It’s important to look back; to remember where you’ve come from.

But it’s better to look ahead and see what’s next.

One thought on “Looking Back

  1. Let’s put it this way Josh………
    Jeremiah 29:11-13
    New International Version (NIV)
    11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

Leave a comment