Nana’s Broccoli Bread

The picture doesn't do it justice...

My great grandmother was the cook in my family. I learned most of what I know from watching her in the kitchen at a young age. For years, I was given a pan of her broccoli bread as a Christmas or birthday gift. While my cousin got a pan of fudge, or my brother got toys, I got a pan of broccoli bread in a disposable baking dish, wrapped in foil with a red bow.

Broccoli Bread

  • 1 package (10 ounce) chopped frozen broccoli
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 stick (4 ounces) butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 teaspoon Kosher salt
  • 1 box Jiffy Corn muffin mix

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. In a medium mixing bowl, combine all ingredients until well blended. Pour into a 9×13 inch baking dish. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until golden.

Leave a Reply

