Food & Family

In my family, we show our love with food. These expressions of love might explain my weight gain in middle school, but that’s another story. As we approach this Christmas season, I find my brain and taste buds recalling certain flavors or meals that were shared together. My great-grandmother’s warm pound cake, sliced and slathered with more butter. My grandmother’s dressing that is prepared for Thanksgiving and Christmas. The infamous sweet potato casserole that had my family divided for years. A red congealed salad made with love by my grandmother always makes an appearance on the family table. Those tastes, those smells, the craziness of the kitchen, the love and care put into every dish; that’s what the holidays are all about. Sharing good food with those you love is a wonderful gift. Don’t let those moments get away.

Leave a Reply

