My First Wedding

The very first wedding I did flowers for, the bride told me she wanted sunflowers and blue roses. Boy did I have my work cut out for me. Not only did she want two very unusual flowers used in her wedding, but she had a budget of $100.00 for all the flowers.

Being the nice guy that I am, I was determined to make this work.

I was maybe 17 years old at the time.

See, like most weddings, this was a friend of a friend who was getting married at Isle of Hope United Methodist Church, a place I knew rather well. The bride was doing what we like to call a “drive thru” wedding, where the bride and her wedding party show up in time to get married, take a few pictures, and then set out on their merry way. That should have been my first clue. Yet I was still determined to make her dreams come true on her wedding day; minus the large sunflowers and blue roses.

My plan was simple: do as little as possible with as few flowers and still make the wedding look beautiful yet try to make a profit. I was able to use pale yellow roses and light blue delphinium. I  was able to pocket a mere $13.00

Since that wedding, I have learned a whole lot. I have learned more about flowers than I ever thought I would. I have learned about how brides think. I have learned how Mother’s of the Bride think.

More importantly, I have learned more about who I am as a business person and as a designer.

The only surviving photo of the first bridal bouquet...

Leave a Reply

